Why you got to love yourself?

meg
My first real smile in months

Today I focused in on the whys, which was enlightening and frustrating and confusing and really all those words that mean “asfjaklsdjfkls,” you know what I mean, smart internet person.

But why do we have to love ourselves? 

Well, because sometimes no one else will give you the love you need. As much as we want to believe and we’re told by ‘grown ups’ that it takes a village and people that your parents will love you no matter what, it might not be true. I mean, I know for a fact that my parents will love me unconditionally forever, but some parents won’t. That’s sad, but it’s something you must deal with if that happens to be your case. That’s what I was told today, “You probably didn’t get the love you needed when you were a little girl.” Well, I didn’t want to be rude, but I was thinking noooope, that’s not me.

So then, why do need to love myself?

There’s a lot of reasons and one of the most simple is the idea that you cannot love someone else if you haven’t learned to love yourself. That’s the one that stuck out to me, but now that puts pressure to love myself so that then I can love someone else and all that. So I’m ignoring that one.

So I need to love myself so that I don’t rely on others. I need to be able to give myself the reassurance, the confidence and the love so that I can become the successful woman of my dreams.

I need to love myself because I can. Because it’s worth loving who you are to be able to walk out into the world and be your own best friend. You tell a joke, no one laughs, but you do and that’s literally all you need. I mean, that’s not how I feel right now, but I strive towards that.

Woman of my dreams..

That sounds kinda weird doesn’t it? Like I’m looking for some woman in a romantic way. Well, that’s not what I mean. I mean me. I’m looking to become the woman of my dreams who is going to kick ass in every part of the world that I want.

I want to be the mom to my children (that I thankfully don’t have yet) who will give them so much love and so much confidence that they’ll be adored. And hopefully I’ll be with a man who shows me the love that I need and will therefore show them what love looks like and that they deserve nothing but the best.

But I cannot do any of that without loving myself. So the journey began a little bit ago, and I’m smiling a bit, but I want to smile some more.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

