The songs that have (accidentally) become my angry anthems

Angry songs, funny songs, mean songs, revenge songs, all kinds of songs…

I looked up a silly thing tonight when I was bored and wanted to listen to some music that wouldn’t make me cry (lol). But this website introduced me to some songs and I just thought I’d share my thoughts on the songs and the lines that stuck out to me.

Update on this: It turns out there’s a lot more songs out there than I thought so that means there’s a lot of people who have been hurt – which is sad – but it helps everyone feel a little less alone.

Remember 2 Forget – Murs

“And quit telling me I’m the best you’ve ever had. I  knew that then I know that now. But once you upgrade you can’t go back down.”

This song was new to me, I hadn’t ever heard it, and I’m so glad I got a chance to listen to it because it’s not one I’d normally listen to but it’s one I see myself jamming to when I get lonely and down. The line I chose up above just stuck out because, well, I’m getting my self-confidence back and, well, I don’t know maybe just listen to the song 😉

Cry Me a River – Justin Timberlake

“You told me you loved me, why did you leave me, all alone?”

This is one that is sad, like JT obviously still has feelings for whoever he’s singing about and while I’m kind of in limbo between having them and feeling nothing, I can relate to it a little. I feel like it’s more relatable and tear-jerking when the wound is fresher, but it’s still a good tune.

Hate (I Really Don’t Like You) – Plain White T’s

“Hate is a strong word. But I really, really, really don’t like you. And now that it’s over
I don’t even know what I liked about you.” “Brought you around. And you just brought me down.”

This song is really really really angry. And I’m not really that angry anymore, I’m just like, yo you suck why’d I stay? But there are lines that are me, like the ones up there, but the rest is just angry and it makes me laugh a little bit – so that’s always a plus.

Another website helped me out too 😉 Kinda got into this idea a lot, so shout out to this site, too. 

Shout Out to My Ex – Little Mix

“Shout out to my ex, you’re really quite the man. You made my heart break and that made me who I am. Here’s to my ex, hey, look at me now. Well, I, I’m all the way up. I swear you’ll never bring me down.”

This one is pretty self-explanatory. I mean, yeah, thanks for breaking my heart because now I can become awesome.

Little bonus about this song is that it’s by Little Mix, and Perrie Edwards, Zayn Malik’s ex-fiancee, is in the band. She got to stick it to him and perform it live in front of him and even had the balls to wave at him. Here’s the moment. 

Ugly Heart – G.R.L.

“I wonder does it stop your heart to know, you’re not my sunshine anymore?” 

I’ve loved this song for a long time, and it applies to more than one person in my past, but I think this line stuck out to me mostly because I let someone else be my sunshine instead of bringing my own happiness to the table.

Since U Been Gone – Kelly Clarkson

“How can I put it? You put me on, I even fell for that stupid love song.” 

While the entirety of this song doesn’t apply to my anger/distress/whatever ya wanna call it, I do feel like I played myself .

Love Yourself – Justin Bieber

*Just a note on this one* This song played out of my music on my phone, and my God it’s just really hitting home. Yeah, I know it’s old, overplayed and stuff, but I like it.

My Happy Ending – Avril Lavigne

“You were all the things I thought I knew, and all I thought we could be. You were everything, everything that I wanted. We were meant to be, supposed to be but we lost it.”

Throwing it on back. But yeah, I definitely thought this was it. And I was wrong and there’s not a happy ending for us together, but hopefully there’s one for both of us separately.

Somebody That I Used To Know – Gotye

“Told myself that you were right for me, but felt so lonely in your company.” “You could be addicted to a certain kind of sadness.” 

For obvious reasons, when you’re in the type of relationship I was in, you do feel lonely, and it’s addicting and now that it’s over and people are like duh you idiot, you just feel stupid.

This song is kind of full of lyrics that apply to me, so here’s some more: “Had me believing it was always something that I’d done. But I don’t want to live that way, reading into every word you say.” 

And the big one: “You said you could let it go.” And you never did, nor would you ever.

Smile – Lily Allen

“I was so lost back then, but with a little help from my friends I found the light in the tunnel at the end.” 

Shout out to friends, cause they’re the best. I’m not a huge fan of this song overall, but it’s definitely got some great lines in there that make it worth listening to.

Those are the songs that I’ve found so far, might update later, but for now I feel confident that I can listen to these without crying and feeling crappy about myself. Music is a truly wonderful thing :’)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

